Watching Women, Falling Women







Open Access


Watching Women, Falling Women – Power and Dialogue in Three Novels by Margaret Atwood

Katarina Gregersdotter

Köp 273 kr

  • Publicerad 2003
  • Isbn 917305397X
  • Typ Häftad
  • 190 sidor

Watching Women, Falling Women is a study of the novels Cat's Eye, The Robber Bride, and Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood. The Study focuses on the female characters and the relationships they form with each other. Atwood's friendships are governed by patriarchal norms ant this examination highlights the intense, and sometimes brutal, power relations and power exercises which form the platforms of the friendships. Furthermore, the issue of dialogic storytelling is discussed as a means to find ways out of a gendered self and a gendered place.